Supporting your child at home with reading

Reading together at home is one of the easiest but most important ways in which you can help your child. As you share books you are helping improve your child’s reading skills and also showing them how important and enjoyable reading is.

We have a diverse range of books to support your child’s reading within the school, and this will enable your child to experience a range of authors and styles of books including non-fiction and poetry.

In terms of reading, we want children to be able to:

  • Enjoy reading and see it as a pleasurable leisure activity, as well as a means of following instructions and finding things out
  • Have the reading skills necessary to read a range of text types for pleasure and for information.
  • To be confident and competent readers, children need to have access to a range of reading experiences

Reading Strategies.

Pause, Prompt and Praise

PAUSE to help them work out the new words

PROMPT by using some of the techniques mentioned in this booklet

PRAISE them for trying whether they are right or wrong

It is important to use as many clues as possible to help your child when they encounter difficulty. Below are the reading strategies we teach when tackling reading words.

After Reading.

Talking about the book with your child at the end will help your child in their enjoyment and understanding of the book.

  • Did you enjoy that book? Why? Why not?
  • Who was your favourite character? Why?
  • Which part did you like the best? Why?
  • Was there any part you didn’t like? Why?
  • Would you choose this book/story again?

Which books are best?

  • Books your child likes.
  • Books suggested by your child’s teacher
  • Books your child chooses from a library or bookshop that they want to read
  • Never be afraid of re-reading books

What else can your child read?

  • Comics or Magazines
  • Instructions or recipes
  • Information books
  • Newspapers
  • Poems
  • Recorded stories

My child is a good reader. Can I still help?

YES! Although children will often want to read in their heads when they become fluent readers and you should not insist on too much reading aloud, there are still many things that you can do. Discuss with them what they have read – about the character, about the plot, about the important parts of the story, about what they have learnt from the information, about their feelings as they read the story.

My child won’t read, no matter what I do. How can I help?

  • Read to your child as much as possible
  • Don’t make an issue out of it
  • Talk to your child’s class teacher - working together will help

Websites to help the development of Reading at home & School:

Oxford Owl Press http://www.oxfordowl.co.uk

Wordsforlife.org.uk http://www.wordsforlife.org.uk/

A Story For Bedtime www.astoryforbedtime.com

BBC Parenting website www.bbc.co.uk/parenting

Booktrust www.booktrust.org.uk

The Child Literacy Centre www.childliteracy.com

DfES Parents Centre www.parentscentre.gov.uk

Help them read www.helpthemread.co.uk

Parent Link www.parentlink.co.uk

Read Together www.readtogether.co.uk

Silly Books www.sillybooks.net

Finding and choosing books.

Here are some useful websites and online resources to help you choose books for children, young people and adults. The Book shop on Bell Street, Waterstones in Reading and the librarians in Sonning Common have an amazing knowledge of children’s literature of (new books as well as classic stories) that they are happy to share.

Bookheads http://www.bookheads.org.uk

Books, Reading and Writing www.braw.org.uk

Cool Reads www.cool-reads.co.uk

First Choice Books www.firstchoicebooks.org.uk

Guys Read www.guysread.com

Mrs Mad www.mrsmad.com

Reading Matters www.readingmatters.co.uk

The library is a valuable resource for us, as we do not have one of our own. It is also possible to borrow ebooks and audio books for free from them too.

In early years, practising phonics at home, helps with giving children building blocks that will enable them to be successful readers.

Helping with phonics at home.

Please see the document below to support phonics learning at home.

Files to Download

Student Login

STAFF LOGIN
PARENT LOGIN
SCHOOL BLOGS